I declined a job offer

No, thank you! That was my answer to a job opportunity that was going to pay me twice my current salary and similar benefits but no challenge. I was offered a management role to begin on March 1, but after much thought and guidance from God, I declined this opportunity.

Hear me out. My current role is challenging and has lots of growth opportunities that I have not yet explored. I perform three functions in one and there is always something to think about, which makes it pretty exciting. The role I was being offered sounded like a government role. If you are in Kenya, you know how civil servants behave. Big titles but nothing to show for it. I did not want to be in this situation.

Keeping up with my theme of the year (beast mode), that would have been the wrong choice. Just sitting in one place doing the utmost minimum is not what my life is meant to be. I want to go hard in all areas of my life and when I do anything, I want to actually offer my best. I am absolutely terrified of this decision as I do not know when such an opportunity, offered on a silver platter, will ever come again. You know, life can be tricky and the money seemed so good! Actually, thinking about it, this is the second opportunity I have rejected this month. The first one did not align with my values.

One thing that comforts me with this decision, is that when all is said and done, I choose myself. I choose myself and my growth. I am renewing my commitment to be a better version of myself, to grow deeper in everything I do, and to be grounded in excellence, values, and awareness. Whereas I am surprised with this decision, I know God’s got me!

Love and light!

Leave a comment